Stop & Reed

From the Dean

In June we had our final Organ Artist Series concert featuring the talents of Dr. Joy-Leilani Garbutt. Her performance was fantastic, capturing the essence of the French repertoire with grace and virtuosity. It was delightful to discover the works of lesser-known female composers, as Garbutt skillfully brought their compositions to life. That's one of my favorite things about organ repertoire, there is so much to discover!

As we look back on the program year, I'm grateful for the work of our board and members that helped make it possible. A huge thank you to Sharon Massingill who has served on the board as our membership coordinator for many, many years. Every year she would create our directory and help maintain our membership database, through multiple changes from headquarters over the years! She has also been a key part of planning our Hymn Festivals, writing scripts for the program, and serving as our reader. Thank you Sharon for all of your time on the board!

I hope everyone continues to enjoy their Summer!

Musically,

Cactus Harris, Dean

Board member election edition

Executive Board

American Guild of Organists

Dean

Cactus Harris 805.591.9680

Sub-Dean

Michael Varlas 559.930.3287

Recording Secretary

Hannah Zentner 559.356.6614

Newsletter Editor

Michael Varlas

Treasurer

Michal Hembd 559.299.8276

Membership Coordinator

Sharon Massingill 559.924.4741

Board Members

Faye DeLong CAGO Scott Horton Matthew Rye Sharon Massingill Jean Hays Vacant

Publicity Coordinator

Cactus Harris 805.591.9680

Webmaster

Drew Maddox

Board member election

Chapter Election

Proposed Officer Slate of the San Joaquin Valley AGO Chapter for 2023 Election.

First Posting of the Proposed Slate of Board Members-at-Large:

Susan Berg (Term expiring in 2025) David Boldt (Term expiring in 2026)

A second posting of this slate will be published on July 25, 2023 in an email to the membership. If there are no additional nominations the slate as it stands will be elected.

Procedures for making additional nominations are:

- 1. The nominee must agree in advance of the nomination
- 2. The nomination must be signed by five (5) chapter voting members in good standing
- 3. The nomination must be submitted in writing to Michael Varlas, 1701 Riverview Drive, Madera, CA 93637 no later than July 25, 2023

If there are additional nominations a ballot will be prepared and voting members will vote for their choice.

Current Officers and Board Members-at-Large

Dean: Cactus Harris (2024) Sub Dean: Michael Varlas (2024) Secretary: Hannah Zentner (2024) Treasurer: Michal Hembd (2024)

> Members at Large: Scott Horton (2024) Matthew Rye (2024) Faye DeLong (2025) Vacant Jean Hayes (2026) Vacant